History of 3SF

Below is a brief timeline of three-sided football, which will be added to as more information is gathered. If you know of an event that needs adding please get in touch.


Asger Jorn discusses three-sided football in his book Naturens Ordern


3SF match played in Glasgow


3SF match played during Hackney Anarchist Week

May, 2010

3SF match ahead of UK General Election between teams representing Labour, Conservatives and Lib Dems; held at Haggerston Park.

May, 2011

3SF match held in Madrid


3SF match featuring Goldsmiths College and Millwall FC

The group Sous les Pavés translated the 3sf-rules in to German, and have since held open matches on several cultural, pro-refugee and kids events in the Ruhr Area.

June, 2012

Philosophy FC v Bilbao’s Athletic Club v Santander’s Internacional FC; held in Bilbao.

Aug, 2012

Deptford X 3SF tournament

Jan, 2013

The first 3SF International – England [3] v Scotland [2] v Poland [4]

May, 2013

Regent’s Park Rotorende tournament

Sep, 2013

3SF match held in Taksim Square, Turkey

May, 2014

1st 3SF World Cup – Silkeborg, Denmark


Sep, 2014

The first regular 3SF league starts in Deptford, South East London. The league features six teams: Aesthetico Athletico, Deptford 3FC, Husaria, New Cross Irregulars 3FC and Strategic Optimists.

June, 2015

New Cross Irregulars crowned inaugural 3SF League Champions

Three-sided football league champions 2014-15, New Cross Irregulars
NXI are crowned inaugural champions of the Luther Blissett 3SF League

August, 2017

2nd World Cup 2017 – Kassel, Germany